

between First-Generation College Students' Expectations for Experiences with Faculty and Student Success after the First Year" within the Curriculum and Instruction program with emphasis in Higher Education Administration.

Faculty recognition - journal cover

Dr. Larsen called attention to a cover of *Journal of Computational Chemistry* (2014 32, 2297-2004) featuring an article by Dr. Arjan van der Vaart and his graduate advisee, Ms. Aleksandra Karolak [Pictured below with copy of cover] that is concerned with computational studies of DNA flexibility using a new Ocoarse grained approach. O It is thought that the efforts described Oshould lead to faster and more robust computational modeling of DNA and DNADprotein interactions.

Dr. van der Vaart, Ms. Karolak (Photo courtesy

Faculty recognition- Election-I

Dr. **Kimberly Fields** was elected Chair of the Tampa Bay Section, ACS

Dr. Fields received her B.S. in chemistry from University of Central Florida and her Ph.D. in organic chemistry from the University of South Florida. After teaching at Polk State College and Florida Southern College, she returned to the University of South Florida in 2011 as a chemistry instructor.

Dr. Fields

She has been a member of ACS for 10 years and is an active co-adviser for the Chemistry Society, which is the ACS student-affiliate group at USF. She enthusiastically participates and helps to organize various service and STEM outreach events like National Chemistry Week, Earthday, Science for Every Student, MOSI events, and the Great American Teach-In.

She also does hands-on food chemistry experiments to stimulate interest in the sciences with majors and non-majors as a

Dr. Elsaidi Dr. Gatlin

Joseph Gill, Ph.D. (Dr. Peter Zhang) Alaa Hashim, Ph.D. (Dr. Li-June Ming)

Dr. Joseph Gill Dr. Alaa Hashim

Michael McLean, M.S. (Dr. Abdul Malik) Mona Mohamad Ph.D. (Dr. Zaworotko/ Co-major professor Dr. Brian Space).

Mr. Michael McLean Dr. Mohammad

Xiaoying Xu, Ph.D., (Dr.

staff appreciation luncheon was held in the Chemistry conference room. This semiannual event had food ordered by guests

Some staff members and hosts Photo courtesy Mr. Roberto Avergonzado

from a menu of a local Chinese restaurant,

beautiful old city of Galway. He returns for short visits associated with CDDI activities.

Council of Graduate Students activities

Now we are 50

Members of the Council, having read our Department History realized that the Department was formally created in the fall of 1964, having been a *program* previously arranged for commemorative tee shirts. They include the message OChemistry, Est. 19640 on front

On the back is the name STANNUM (aka. tin) and below the number 50, which is both the number of the anniversary and atomic number of tin.

Advisors on a cool day: Kelly Pearson, Anthony Iannelli, Kristi Kirby, Ashley Dees, and Laura Albaum [Photo credit:Dr. Nelson]

Faculty travels

Dr. Peter Zhang

Dr. Zhang (professor of chemistry) was invited to attend the Symposium of Chiral China 2014 in Hefei, China between September 28 and October 1, 2014. He delivered a plenary lecture entitled ÒMetalloradical Catalysis for Asymmetric Organic SynthesisÓ.

Professor Zhang

Dr. Bill Baker

Dr. Baker, professor of chemistry, is spending a year on leave at the National University of Ireland Galway, in the

Student Support

The Council provided an additional \$75 to each student who received a Martin Travel Award to defray cost of attending the Spring

Dr. **Stewart Schneller** (Faculty, 1971-94; Chair, 1986-94), former Dean of Sciences and Mathematics at Au

Now you see it, now you don $\tilde{0}t$

One of the older buildings on campus, the two-story Life Sciences was scheduled to be demolished and to be replaced with a much taller building using the same <code>OfootprintO</code>.

Before in preparation for demolition (Dec.27, 2014)

Inf

Roberto K. Avergonzado

Rafael W. Blanco

William Clifford Brown

Jianfeng Cai

Daniel Cruz-Ramirez de Arellano

Maria Teresa Gallardo-Williams

Ioannis Gelis

Cheryl Rochelle Graham

Wayne Charles Guida

Lorene L. Hall-Jennings

Ushiri Kumarihamy Kulatunga

Mohanraja Kumar

Randy W. Larsen

James William Leahy

Jennifer E. Lewis

The Ann Liguori Foundation

Linda D. Lowe

Shengqian Ma

Abdul Malik

Barbara B. Martin

Dean F. Martin

Adrienne Nicole McCain

Mark L. McLaughlin

Ralph Edward Moon

Robert L. Potter

Christina Darpino Nelson

Wally E. Pagan

Jeffrey Robert Raker

A. N. Sarala Rao

Kimberly Bailey Read

David M. Rogers

Guillermo Santiago Sandi-Urena

Samantha Marie Santos-DaSilva

John David Seals

Edward Turos

Carissa Marie Vetromile

Adrian Villalta-Cerdas

Xiangdong Wei

Lukasz Wojtas

Louise B. Worrell

Rong Zhang

Xiao-Xiang Peter Zhang

Company donors

The Shirley W. and William L. Griffin Charitable Foundation

Hausinger & Associates, Inc.

Rooms to Go Children's Fund

Gerald A. & Karen A. Kolschowsky

Foundation, Inc.

Sapphire Foundation for Prostate Cancer,

Inc.

Celma Mastry Ovarian Cancer Foundation,

Inc.

Dean M. Graham Foundation

The Elizabeth Ireland Graves Foundation

Yolanda & Salvatore Gigante Charitable

Foundation Trust

Miami Foundation for Cancer Research, Inc.

The Bradley Zankel Foundation, Inc.

Megan's Wings

Save The Ta-Tas Foundation

Medical Center downtown

If approved by the Florida Board of Governors, USF plans to co-locate the Morsani College of Medicine and the USF Heart Institute to a one-acre plot generously provided by Mr. Jeff Vinik (Tampa Bay Lightning owner).

News and feedback

Chair 0s Address:

Dr. Randy Larsen Department of Chemistry-CHE 205 University of South Florida 4202 East Fowler Avenue Tampa, FL 33620-5205 rwlarsen@usf.edu



Dr. Larsen

Web page:

http://chemistry.usf.edu

Webmaster: Mr. Brant Tudor



Mr. Tudor

News:

For past issues you may have missed, please see the departmental Web page.

News for us or comments?

Please write to: dfmartin@usf.edu

or share with the Webpage or with the Facebook.

Acknowledgments

We thank Ms. Aimee Blodgett for helpful photographs. Thanks to Ms. Adrienne McCain for keeping track of graduate student progress. We thank Ms. Ann Serota, Development Office assistant, for providing the names of the helpful donors. Thanks to Dr. Christine Nelson for helpful news items. This is the 49th issue that has benefitted from Mrs. Barbara Martinõs proof-reading.